Soviets India built steelworks and other projects in the 1960s and bought
military hardware and warplanes from Moscow. These strong economic and
military ties aroused further suspicion in the U.S., souring relations between
the world’s two largest democracies.
The Constitution-Making
The Constituent Assembly met for the first time in New Delhi on December
9, 1946 in the Constitution Hall which is now known as the Central Hall of
the Parliament House. Two hundred and seven representatives, including nine
women were present. The inaugural session began at 11 a.m. with the
introduction of Dr Sachchidananda Sinha, the temporary Chairman of the
Assembly, by Acharya Kripalani.
    The Constituent Assembly took almost three years (two years, eleven
months and seventeen days to be precise) to complete its historic task of
drafting the Constitution of Independent India. During this period, it held
eleven sessions covering a total of 165 days. Of these, 114 days were spent
on the consideration of the Draft Constitution.
    The assembly had members chosen by the members of the Provincial
Legislative Assemblies through an indirect election, according to a scheme
recommended by the Cabinet Mission. The arrangement was: (i) 292
members were elected through the Provincial Legislative Assemblies; (ii) 93
members represented the Indian Princely States; and (iii) 4 members
represented the Chief Commissioners’ Provinces. The total membership of
the Assembly thus was to be 389. However, as a result of the partition under
the Mountbatten Plan of June 3, 1947, a separate Constituent Assembly was
set up for Pakistan and representatives of some Provinces ceased to be
members of the Assembly. As a result, the membership of the Assembly was
reduced to 299.
    On December 13, 1946, Jawaharlal Nehru moved the Objectives
Resolution. This Resolution was      unanimously adopted by the Constituent