Power); Rajendra Prasad (Food and Agriculture); Asaf Ali (Railways);
Jagjivan Ram (Labour); Liaqat Ali Khan (Finance); T.T. Chundrigar
(Commerce); Abdur Rab Nishtar (Communications); Ghazanfar Ali Khan
(Health); and Jogendra Nath Mandal (Law). The first nine represented the
Congress, while the last five belonged to the League.
Constituent Assembly (1946–50)
Elections to the Constituent Assembly were over by the end of June 1946.
Out of a total of 292 seats allotted to British Indians, 4 remained vacant
because of the Sikh refusal to join the Assembly. The remaining 288 were
divided into three sections: ‘A’, ‘B’ and ‘C’. In Section ‘A’ Congress won
162 general and two Muslim seats, the League 19 and the Independents one.
In group ‘B’ the Congress won 7 general and 2 Muslim seats; the League 19,
the Unionist Party 3, Independents one. In group ‘C’, the Congress won 32,
the League 35, the Communists 1, the Scheduled Castes 2 and the Krishak
Praja Party 1. Thus totally the Congress won 201; the Muslim League 73;
there were 8 independents and 6 members from other parties.
    The Assembly held its first meeting on December 9 in the Library of the
Council Chamber and 205 members attended. The League representatives
abstained, as did those from the Indian States. As part of the preliminary
business, the Assembly elected a committee of 15 to frame the rules of
procedure, and Dr Rajendra Prasad as Chairman.
    The most important resolution known as the ‘Objective Resolution’ was
adopted by the Assembly on January 22, 1947. It was later to be incorporated
substantially into the Preamble of the Indian Constitution. After nearly three
years of strenuous work, the constitution was finally adopted by the
Assembly on November 26, 1949 and came into force on January 26, 1950.
Mountbatten Plan and Achievement of Freedom (1947)
Lord Mountbatten, who replaced Lord Wavell as the Viceroy in March 1947,
resolved to effect the transfer of power lit the earliest opportunity, and
worked out a compromise plan after long discussions with the leaders of the
Congress and the League.
    According to his plan, India    was to be free but not united. The main