League were quite ambivalent in their reaction
     Thus Cabinet Mission got exasperated in its attempts to find a meeting
ground between the two major political parties. For members of the Mission
could satisfy neither the Congress nor the League. Finally they left for
England on 29 June.
     The Congress agreed to contest the election and take part in the
constituent assembly, but refused to join the interim government. The
Muslim League approved the plan and expected the viceroy to call upon it to
form the interim government. But the viceroy refused to do so. There upon
the Muslim League withdrew its acceptance of the Cabinet Mission plan.
     On August 12, 1946, Wavell called upon the Congress to form the interim
government. The Congress reversed its original decision and agreed to form
the interim government. At first the League did not take part in the interim
government, but later it joined the government. The League refused to
participate in the constituent assembly that met to draft the constitution. It
continued its insistence on Pakistan and called upon the British government
to dissolve the constituent assembly.
                           DIRECT ACTION DAY
  The ‘League decided on July 30 that August 16 would be observed as
  ‘Direct Action Day’ throughout the country. In this tense situation the
  viceroy’s decision to invite the Congress to form the interim government
  at the centre added fuel to the fire. In Calcutta, on August 16, the League
  organised public demonstrations and hartals, resulting in clashes and
  rioting all over the city. The mob fury continued for four consecutive days,
  after which normalcy was gradually restored. The Bengal government led
  by the League leader, H.S. Suhrawardy had declared August 16 a public
  holiday which made things worse. Nor did it call the army until the
  situation had got completely out of hand.
Interim Government (1946–47)
The personnel and portfolios of the composite fourteen-member government
were—Jawaharlal Nehru (vice-president of the Executive Council, External
Affairs and Commonwealth Relations);         Valabhbhai Patel (Home, Information