states, should deal with three subjects viz. foreign affairs, defence
            and communications.
         2. It should have an executive as well as a legislature.
         3. All subjects other than the Union subjects and all residuary
            powers should vest in the provinces of British India.
         4. The princely states would retain all subjects other than those
            ceded to the Union.
         5. Provinces should be free to form groups (subfederal).
         6. The constitution of the Union and the groups should contain a
            provision whereby any province could by a majority vote of its
            legislative assembly call for a reconsideration of the terms of the
            constitution after an initial period of ten years.
         7. The formation of a constituent assembly on the basis of the
            recently elected provincial legislatures by allotting to each
            province a total number of seats proportional to its population.
            Elections were to be held by a method of proportional
            representation with single transferable vote.
         8. To carry on the country’s administration while the constitution-
            making was proceeding, an interim government having the
            support of the major political parties should be set up.
    The proposed Constituent Assembly was to consist of 292 members from
British India and 93 from the Indian States. The British India members were
to be divided into 210 General (viz., all those who were not Muslims or
Sikhs), 78 Muslim and 4 Sikh seats.
    In the preliminary meeting, the Assembly was to elect not only a
chairman and other office bearers but also an advisory committee. Next it
divided itself into three sections consisting of groups of Provinces ‘A’, ‘B’
and ‘C’. Provinces, thus, put in group ‘A’ were Madras, Bombay, the United
Provinces Bihar, the Central Provinces and Orissa; Group ‘B’ consisting of
Punjab, the North-West Frontier Province and Sind; and Group ‘C’, Bengal
and Assam.
    Further, it was provided that any decision about the secession of any
province from a group would be taken by the legislature of that province after
the first general election under the new constitution.
    Both the Congress and the