(b) Lord Elgin
(c) Lord Hamilton
(d) Lord Cross
Who among the following did not attend the first session of the Congress at
(a) W C Bonnerji
(b) S N Banerji
(c) Badruddin Tyabji
(d) K T Telang
Who among the following viceroys became a victim of one of the convicts
during his visit to the Andamans?
(a) Lytton
(b) Ripon
(c) Mayo
(d) Curzon
Which the following statements is incorrect?
(a) Amrita Bazar Patrika’ was originally a Bengali paper, but became a full-
fledged English paper in 1878 in order to circumvent the Vernacular Press
(b) Hindu was founded by G S Aiyar and Viraraghavachari.
(c) Sanjibani, started in 1883, was a Marathi paper.
(d) Bombay Times became the Times of India in 1861.
Which of the following statements is not true?
(a) Kesari (a Maratha daily) and the Maharatta (an English weekly) were
edited by Agarkar and Prof. Kelkar respectively before Tilak became their
(b) Harishchandra Mukherji, one of the greatest Indian editors of the 19th
century, was the editor of the Hindu Patriot for a long time.
(c) Robert Knight, one of the few English journalists who had sympathy for
Indian cause, was called the “Bayard of India” by the Indian press.
(d) The Bengalee was founded by Surendranath Banerji.
Which of the following was not an objective of the Indian National Congress
when it was founded?
(a) Attainment of complete independence        from the British.