Princely States did not give their consent for
Residuary Powers with the Governor General.
Provincial Autonomy—Introduction of responsible government in the
provinces and abolition of Dyarchy in them.
Provincial Legislatures were made bicameral, for the First time, in 6
provinces (Bengal, Madras, Bombay, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and Assam).
Extension of the principle of separate electorates to Sikhs, Europeans, Indian
Christians and Anglo-Indians.
‘Discretionary Powers’ of the Governor General and the Governors.
Establishment of a Federal Court at Delhi (in 1937) with a Chief Justice and
not more than 6 judges.
                     First Anglo-Maratha War (1775-79)