submission of a’ report known as the ‘Nehru Report’ in August, 1928;
rejection of the report by the Muslim League, Hindu Mahasabha, etc.
‘Deepavali Declaration’ by Lord Irwin (on 31st, 1929) that India would be
granted dominion status in due course.
Lahore session of the Congress (Dec. 1929) and the Poorna Swaraj
resolution; Fixing 26th Jan. 1930 as the first Independence Day.
Launching of the Civil Disobedience Movement by Gandhi with his Dandi
March (12th March, 1930); boycott of the first session of the Round Table
Conference by the Congress ( 1930); Gandhi-Irwin Pact and the suspension
of the movement (March 1931).
Lord Wellingdon (1931–36)
Participation of Gandhi in the second session of the Round Table Conference
(Sep. 1931) and the failure of the conference; return of Gandhi to India (Dec.
1931) and resumption of the movement; Gandhi’s imprisonment; final
suspension of the movement in May, 1934.
Third session of the Round Table Conference in London (1932) without the
representation of the Congress.
Announcement of the ‘Communal Award’ by Ramsay Macdonald, British
P.M. (1932); Gandhi’s fast unto death in the Yeravadi prison and the Poona
Pact between Gandhi and Ambedkar (Sept. 1932).
Government of India Act of 1935.
Separation of Burma from India (1935).
Foundation of the Congress Socialist Party by Acharya Narendra Dev and Jai
Prakash Narayan (1934).
Formation of the All-India Kisan Sabha in 1936.
Lord Linlithgow (1936–43)
Formation of Congress Ministries in majority of the provinces (1937).
Resignation of Subhas Chandra Bose from the Presidentship of the Congress
as well as from its membership in 1939; formation of the Forward Bloc by
Bose and his followers (1939).
Resignation of the Congress Ministries after the out break of the World War
II (1939).