Death of Tilak on 1st August, 1920.
Formation of the Khilafat Committee and the launching of the Khilafat
Movement (1919–20).
Launching of the Non-cooperation Movement (1920–22).
Nagpur session of the Congress (Dec. 1920) changes in the constitution of the
Foundation of the Women’s University at Poona (1916).
Appointment of Sir S. P. Sinha as Lieutenant Governor of Bihar (Sir Sinha
was the first Indian to become a Governor and the second Indian to become a
member of the British Parliament, the first being Dadabhai Naoroji).
Lord Reading (1921–26)
Chauri Chaura incident (February 5, 1922) and the withdrawal of the Non-
cooperation Movement by Gandhi.
Formation of the Swaraj Party by C.R. Das (Deshbandu) and Motilal Nehru
in December 1922.
Foundation of the Rashtriya Swayam Sevak Sangha (RSS) by K B Hedgewar
at Nagpur in 1925.
Repeal of the Rowlatt Act.
Holding of simultaneous examinations for the ICS in England and India with
effect from 1923.
Beginning of Indianisation of the officer’s cadre of the Indian army.
Foundation of the Communist Party of India in 1925.
Lord Irwin (1926–31)
(Popularly known as the ‘Christian Viceroy’)
Appointment of the Simon Commission (Nov. 1927) and the boycott of the
Commission by the Congress.
Appointment of the Harcourt Butler Indian States Commission in Nov. 1927
(to recommend measures for the establishment of better relations between the
Indian states and the Central Govt.); and the convening of the All India States
People’s Conference in Dec. 1927 by the states’ people in response.
Meeting of the First All India Youth   Congress in December, 1928.