Lord Canning (1858-62)
India Councils Act of 1861.
Lord Elgin I (1862)
His sudden death in 1862; administration carried on by Sir Napier and Sir
Denison from 1862 to 1864.
Lord John Lawrence (1864–69)
War with Bhutan in 1865.
Establishment of the High Courts at Calcutta, Bombay and Madras in 1865.
Lord Mayo (1869–72)
Establishment of two colleges for the education and political training of the
Indian Princes—the Rajkot college in Kathiawar and the Mayo college at
Ajmer in Rajasthan.
First step in the direction of separation of central and provincial finances in
Organisation of Statistical Survey of India.
Establishment of a Department of Agriculture and Commerce.
Beginning of the system of State Railways.
His assassination by a convict in the Andamans in 1872.
Lord North Brook (1872–76)
Visit of the Prince of Wales (later Edward VII) to India in 1875.
His resignation over the Afghan question.
Lord Lytton (1876–80)
Royal Titles Act of 1876 and the assumption of the title of ‘Empress of India’
by Queen Victoria; the Delhi-Durbar in January 1877.
Vernacular Press Act and the Arms Act of 1878.
Second Afghan War of (1878-80).
Appointment of the first Famine Commission under Sir Richard Strachey in