(First one was fought in 1766-69).
Nand Kumar episode (1775).
Foundation of the Asiatic Society of Bengal by Hastings and Sir William
Jones (1784).
    After his return to England (1785), impeachment proceedings were
started against him in the House of Lords by Edmund Burke, Charles James
Fox, Sheridan and Gilbert Elliot. He was defended by Edward Law, Plumer
and Dallas. After a prolonged trial (seven years), he was finally acquitted.
Lord Cornwallis (1786–93)
Third Mysore War (1790-92) and the Treaty of Seringapatam (1792).
Introduction of the permanent revenue settlement or the zamindari system in
Bengal and Bihar (1793).
Reform of the judiciary (1793)—setting up courts at different levels and
separation of revenue administration from judical administration;
introduction of civil service and reforms to purify and improve
Sit John Shore (1793–98)
In the introduction of the permanent settlement (1793) he played an important
role as the President of the Board of Revenue, but his Governor-Generalship
was very uneventful.
Lord Wellessley (1798–1805)
Introduction of the system of Subsidiary Alliance (1798), and the first
Subsidiary Treaty with the Nizam of Hyderabad (1798).
Fourth Mysore War (1799) and the annexation of many parts of Mysore.
Subsidiary Treaty of Bassein (1802) and Second Maratha War (1803–05).
Formation of the Madras Presidency after the annexation of the kingdoms of
Tanjore and Carnatic.
Lord Minto I (1807–13)
Before Minto, Sir George Barlow was the governor-general for two years
(1805–07). Main event was the