(1803) Concluded on December 30, 1803,
give up his control over the imperial cities of Delhi and Agra as well as the
Rajput states;
have an ‘accredited minister’ at his court (John Malcolm was designated as
the first British envoy);
surrender parts of Bundelkhand, Ahmadnagar, Broach and territories west of
the Ajanta hills;
accept the treaty of Bassein;
renounce all claims on the Peshwa, the Mughal emperor, the nizam, the
gaekwad and the English Company and to accept the latter as a sovereign
authority; and
not to employ in his service any European without the consent of the British.
    In return, the Company promised to:
provide Sindhia a force of six battalions of infantry, its expenses being
defrayed from the revenues of lands ceded by him; and
restore to Bhonsle Asirgarh, Burhanpur, Powanghul and Dohud and
territories in Khandesh and Gujara depending on these forts.
    By the supplementary treaty of Burhanpur (February 27, 1804), the
British agreed to support him with subsidiary force.
Treaty of Rajpurghat (1805) Signed on December 24, 1805, under this
treaty, Yashvantrao Holkar agreed:
to renounce all claims to the area north of the Bundi hills;
never to entertain in his service any European.
    On their part, the British promised:
not to disturb Holkar’s possessions in Mewar and Malwa or interfere with the
rulers south of the Chambal; and
to restore those of his possessions situated south of the river Tapti.
    Later, on February 2, 1806, the British renounced all claims to territory
north of the Bundi hills. The treaty marked the end of the Second Anglo-
Maratha War.
Treaty of Poona (1817) The British were apprehensive lest Peshwa Baji
Rao II stir up anti-British sentiments as well as strengthen his army for
hostile action. A new compact. which was a supplement to the earlier Treaty
of Bassein, was signed on June 13, 1817. According to the new treaty, the
Peshwa agreed to: