According to this treaty of Bassein,      the Peshwa (in return for a defensive
the annual expense of which was estimated to be Rs 25 lakh;
agreed not to entertain any foreign national hostile to the British in his
to accept British intercession to settle his differences with the Nizam and the
Gaekwad, and not to negotiate with any other state his differences with the
two of them;
not to negotiate with any other state without the Company’s prior permission;
to relinquish for ever all his rights and claims to the city of Surat.
    Next, a supplementary treaty was concluded at Poona on December 16,
1803, which stipulated the addition of a regiment of native cavalry to the
British subsidiary force.
    The Treaty of Bassein, thus, gave the British a legitimate right to interfere
in the Peshwa’s domestic affairs. Its rejection by the other Maratha chiefs led
to the Second Anglo-Maratha War and the subsequent break-up of the
confederacy. Modern historians regarded the Treaty as one of the most
important land-marks of British ascendancy in India, while contemporary
Englishmen felt that it marked a distinct change in the footing on which the
Company stood in western India. Unfortunately, the Peshwa was a broken
reed to lean upon and, in the words of Arthur Wellesley, it was ‘a treaty with
a cipher (that is the Peshwa)’.
Treaty of Deogaon (1803) On December 17, 1803, Raghuji Bhonsle and
the Company concluded the treaty of Deogaon in the course of the Second
Anglo-Maratha War. Under the treaty, Bhonsle agreed to:
cede the province of Cuttack, including Balasore, which gave the Company
control over a continuous stretch of the eastern seaboard and linked the
presidencies of Bengal and Madras;
expel all foreigners from his service;
accept British arbitration in all his disputes with the nizam or the peshwa;
respect treaties concluded by the British with his feudatories;
dissociate himself and his successors from the confederacy and other Maratha
chiefs; and
accept a British envoy at his court (Mount Stuart Elphinstone was appointed
in that capacity).
Treaty of Surji Arjangaon