1864 (January) Sir John (Lord) Lawrence
1869 (January) Earl of Mayo
1872 Sir John Strachey
1872 Lord Napier of Merchistoun
1872 (May) Baron (Earl of) Northbrook
1876 (April) Baron (1st Earl of) Lytton (I)
1880 (June) Marquess of Ripon
1884 (December) Earl of Dufferin (Marquess of Dufferin and Ava)
1888 (December) Marquess of Lansdowne
1894 (January) 9th Earl of Elgin (II)
1899 (6th January) Baron (Marquess) Curzon of Kedleston
1904 (April) Lord Ampthill
1904 (December) Baron (Marquess) Curzon of Kedleston (reappointed)
1905 (November) 4th Earl of Minto (II)
1910 (November) Baron Hardinge of Penshurst (II)
1916 (April) Baron Chelmsford 1921 (April) Earl of Reading 1925 2nd Earl
of Lytton (II) 1926 (April) Lord Irwin
1929 Lord Goschen (during the absence of Lord Irwin on leave)
1931 (April) Earl of Willingdon
1934 (May-August) Sir George Stanley (Officiating)
1934 Earl of Willingdon (18th April) Marquess of Linlithgow
1937 (31st March) Marquess of Linlithgow
1938 (June-October) Baron Brabourne (Officiating)
1938 Marquess of Linlithgow
1943 Viscount (Earl) Wavell
1945 Sir John Colville (Officiating)
1947 (March-August) Viscount (Earl) Mountbatten (last Viceroy of United
India, First Governor-General of the Indian Dominion, 1947-48)