(d) i-A, ii-D, iii-C, iv-B
Which of the following statements about the first and the second Angle-
Mysore wars are incorrect?
(i) The First Anglo-Mysore War began in 1746 and ended in 1750.
(ii) The Second Anglo-Mysore War began in 1780 and ended in 1784.
(iii) The first peace treaty between the British and Mysore was concluded in
(iv) One of the causes for the outbreak of the Second War was the British
capture of Mahe, a French settlement within Haider’s jurisdiction.
Select the answer from the codes given below:
(a) i and ii
(b) i and iii
(c) ii and iii
(d) iii and iv
The governor of Madras who concluded the Treaty of Mangalore with Tipu
Sultan was?
(a) Lord Harris
(b) Lord Hamilton
(c) Lord Macartney
(d) Lord Stephenson’
Who was the governor-general during the Second Anglo-Mysore War?
(a) Warren Hastings
(b) Lord Cornwallis
(c) Sir John Shore
(d) Lord Wellesley
Which of the following statements about the Third Anglo- Mysore war are
(i) The immediate cause of this war was Tipu’s occupation of a part of the
territory of Travancore, whose Raja was an ally of the British.
(ii) It started in 1786 and ended in 1788.
(iii) The British forged an alliance with the Nizam and the Marathas against
(iv) Lord Cornwallis, the then governor-general, assumed personal command
of the British forces in the middle of the war.