EMPIRE (1707–1761)
Later Mughals (1707–1858 AD)
Bahadur Shah (1707–12)
Bahadur Shah ascended the Mughal throne after a war of succession among
the three sons of Aurangzeb. Soon after he assumed the title Shah Alam I.
During his reign there was a reconciliation with the Sikhs by taking Guru
Gobind Singh into Mughal service. However, the truce with the Sikhs was
cut short by the revolt of the Sikhs under Banda Bahadur after the death of
Gobind. Even the Bundelas and the Jats were reconciled when Bahadur Shah
took their chiefs (Chatrasal and Churaman respectively) into his service.
Later in his reign, following the release of Shahu there was an outbreak of
Maratha civil war between Shahu and Tara Bai.
Jahandar Shah (1712–13)
The war of succession among the four sons of Bahadur Shah resulted in the
emergence of Jahandar as the successor due to the support given to him by
Zulfiqar Khan (beginning of the practice of nobles acting as king-makers).
Later, Jahandar was defeated by his nephew Farukh Siyar in 1713.
Farukh Siyar (1713–19)
The Sayyid brothers played a decisive role (Abdullah Khan and Hussain Ali
Khan) in the succession of Farukh. His ascendence marked the beginning of
the struggle for power between the emperor and the Sayyid brothers. (The
elder of the two was made the wazir and the younger the mir bakshi.) Farukh