a king of renown; the Chandella country ruled was known as Jejakabhukti
after him. Jayasakti was succeeded by his younger brother Vijayasakti, whose
successor was his son Rahila.
Yasovarman Rahila was succeeded by his son, Yasovarman, also known
as Lakshavarman. The decline of the Pratihara power made Yasovarman free
to defy the former and to launch the Chandellas to aggressive militarism. The
Khajuraho Inscription describes with obvious exaggeration the extensive
conquests made by Yasovarman. Though an element of doubt attaches to the
achievements of Yasovarman, there is no doubt that he made extensive
conquests in north India and made the Chandellas a formidable power. He
built a magnificent temple at Khajuraho, identified with the Chaturbhuja
temple, in which he installed the image of Vishnu.
Dhanga Yasovarman was succeeded by his son, Dhanga (954–1002), the
most famous ruler of the dynasty. He inherited a large territory from his
father. Dhanga assumed the title of maharajadhi- raja and raised the
Chandella power to its highest. By the strength of his arms, he succeeded in
extending the northern boundary of the Chandella kingdom up to the bank of
the Ganga.
  The extant buildings at Khajuraho bear witness to the artistic activities of
  the reign of Dhanga. The magnificent temple of Visvanatha built by him is
  one of the most well-preserved and lavishly ornamented temples at
  Khajuraho. The temples of Jinanatha and Vaidyanatha were also built
  during the reign of Dhanga.
Weak Successors of Dhanga Dhanga was succeeded by his son Ganda
who was succeeded by his son Vidyadhara. Sultan Mahmud twice invaded
his kingdom in 1019 and 1022. Instead of meeting the enemy in the open
field, Vidyadhara seems to have adopted the scorched earth policy and shut
himself up in Kalinjar fort. The fort was besieged and the seize dragged on
for a considerable time till Vidyadhara sued for peace. The death of
Vidyadhara witnessed the temporary eclipse of the Chandella power under
rulers like Vijayapala, Devavarman, Kirttivarman, Sallakshavarman,
Jayavarman, Prithvivarman and Madanavarman.