an author and a liberal patron of men of
  city of Manyakheta and adorned it with an excellent palace. He was
  succeeded by his son Krishna II
Krishna II He was neither an able ruler nor a good military commander.
His only achievement was the termination of the Gujarat branch. He could
just maintain his own against Bhoja I and his wars against Vengi and the
Cholas brought disaster and disgrace. Like his father, Amoghavarsha,
Krishna was a Jaina.
Indra III Krishna II was succeeded by his grandson Indra III. Indra
emulated his great ancestors by declaring war against the Gurjara Pratihara
emperor, Mahipala. He marched upon Kanauj and occupied it. Towards
Vengi, Indra followed the policy of fomenting troubles for the ruling king
and put his own nominee on the Vengi throne.
Amoghavarsha II Indra III was succeeded by his son Amoghavarsha II.
Within a year of accession, Amoghavarsha II died and his younger brother
Govinda ascended the throne.
Govinda IV Govinda was a tyrant whose conduct and vicious life
provoked universal resentment. A chieftain took a leading part in the
revolution which brought about the end of the inglorious reign of Govinda IV
and the transfer of the crown to Amoghavarsha III.
Amoghavarsha III He devoted himself to religious rather than
administrative affairs. The government was carried on by crown prince
Krishna III.
Krishna III After his accession Krishna spent a few years in strengthening
the administration. Krishna led a lightning expedition to the Chola kingdom
and captured Kanchi and Tanjore. It took the Cholas a few years to recover
from the blow and in AD 949 a decisive battle was fought at Takkolam in the
North Arcot District. Krishna marched farther south and after defeating both
the Kerala and Pandya kings even succeeded in occupying Ramesvaram for a
time. He built a number of temples in the conquered territories among which
the temples of Krishnesvara and Gandamartandatiya at Ramesvaram are
famous. Throughout his long reign, Krishna III remained in effective
possession of Tondai-mandala consisting of the Arcot, Chingleput and