(i) The list as given by the inscription includes eight states of Dakshinapatha,
whose rulers were defeated but were reinstated.
(ii) It includes the names of eight kings of Aryavarta who were exterminated
and whose kingdoms were not annexed.
(iii) The list also consists of five border states, nine tribal republics and some
forest states, whose rulers were made to accept Gupta suzerainty either by
military action or by coercion.
(iv) Finally the list also comprises Sakas, Kushanas and rulers of island states
whose territories were annexed by Samudragupta.
Choose the answer from the codes below:
(a) All of them
(b) i, ii and iii
(c) ii and iii only
(d) iii and iv only
The five pratyanta or border states, as mentioned in the Allahabad prasasti
(i) Samtata
(ii) Davaka
(iii) Vanga
(iv) Kamarupa
(v) Nepala
(vi) Karthipura
Choose the answer from the codes given below:
(a) i, ii, iv, v and vi
(b) ii, iii, iv, v and vi
(c) i, iii, iv, v and vi
(d) i, ii, iii, iv and v
Which of the following statements about the polity of the Guptas is/are
(i) Gupta emperors claimed divine origin and supernatural powers for
(ii) They could neither make their own laws nor modify or interpret the
existing laws.
(iii) They assumed exalted imperial titles such as maharajadhiraja,