concentrated on domestic matters.    He was a worshipper of Vishnu and a great
Successors Successors of Nandivarman II were Dantivarman (796–847),
Nandivarman III (847–69), Nripatunga (869–99) and Aparajita (899–903).
The last nail in the coffin was driven by Aditya Chola by defeating Aparajita
Pallava towards the end of the ninth century AD. However, the Pallava chiefs
continued to exist till the end of the 13th century AD as feudatories.
Contribution of the Pallavas
                      ART AND ARCHITECTURE
 The development of temple architecture, particularly Dravida style, under
 the Pallavas can be seen in four stages.
 Mahendra Group The influence of the cave style of architecture is to
 be seen in this group. Examples: are the rock-cut temples at
 Bhairavakonda (North Arcot district), and Anantesvara temple at
 Undavalli (Guntur district).
 Narasimha Group They comprises the rathas or monolithic temples,
 each of which is hewn out of a single rock-boulder. These monolithic
 temples are found at Mamallapuram. The rathas, popularly called the
 Seven Pagodas, are actually eight in number. They are (1) Dharmaraja, (2)
 Bhima, (3) Arjuna, (4) Sahadeva, (5) Draupadi, (6) Ganesa, (7) Pidari and
 (8) Valaiyankuttai.
 Rajasimha Group There are five examples of this group—the at
 Mahabalipuram (Shore, Isvara and Mukunda temples), one at Panamalai
 in South Arcot, and the temple of Kailasanatha temple at Kanchi. Among
 all these, the most mature example is the last one.
 Nandivarman Group This group mostly consists of small temples
 except the Vaikuntaperumal temple at Kanchi and in no way forms an
 advance on the achievements of the previous age. But they are more
 ornate, resembling the Chola architecture. The best examples are the
 temples of Muktesvara and Matangesvara at Kanchi, the Vadamalisvara at
 Orgadam (near Chingalput), and the Parasuramesvara at Gudimallam
 (near Renigunta).