•    If desires are conquered, all sorrows can be removed.
    •    The only way this can be done is by following the eight-fold path.
Eight-fold Path (Ashtangamarga)
The eight-fold path comprises: (1) proper vision, (2) right aim, (3) right
speech, (4) proper action, (5) proper livelihood, (6) right effort, (7) correct
awareness, and (8) meditation. According to Buddha’s teachings anyone who
follows this path, considered as the ‘middle path’ (madhyama pratipAD),
would attain salvation irrespective of his social background.
    The virtuous path as suggested by him is a code of practical ethics that
has a rational outlook. Buddhism, therefore, was more a social than religious
revolution. It taught the code of practical ethics and laid down the democratic
principle of social equality.
Other Doctrines
Nirvana literally means ‘blowing out’ or extinction of desire (trishna) for
existence in all its forms and the consequent cessation of suffering. It is not a
mere disappearance or extinction, but a tranquil state to be realised by a
person who ‘from all craving or want is free’. It is deliverance or freedom
from rebirth.
    Another doctrine on which Buddha laid great emphasis is the law of
karma, its working and the transmigration of soul. The condition of man in
this life and the next, he argued, depends upon his own deeds. We are born
again and again to reap the fruits of our karma. This is the law of karma. If an
individual sins no more, he dies no more, and when he dies no more; he is
born no more, and thus, he comes to live the life of Final Bliss.
  According to the Buddha, all things are composite, and, as a corollary, all
  things are transient, for the composition of all aggregates is liable to
  change with time. Moreover, being essentially transient, they have no
  eternal Self or Soul, no abiding individuality. And, as we have seen, they
  are inevitably liable to sorrow.     This three-fold characterisation of the