Tourist Centres
            Prominent places of pilgrimage/tourist interests are Gangotri, Yamunotri, Badrinath,
      Kedarnath, Haridwar, Rishikesh, Hemkund Sahib, Nanakmatta, etc. Kailash Mansarovar Yatra
      can be performed through Kumaon region. The world-famous Valley of Flowers, Pindari
      Glacier, Roop Kund, Dayara Bugyal, Auli and hill stations like Mussoorie, Dehradun, Chakrata,
      Nainital, Ranikhet, Bageshwar, Bhimtal, Kausani, Lansdowne, etc. are the other tourist
      Relevant Website:
       Governor                : Baby Rani Maurya        Chief Secretary        : Utpal Kumar Singh
       Chief Minister          : Trivendra Singh         Jurisdiction of High   : Uttarakhand
                                  Rawat                  Court
      Uttar Pradesh
       Area                    : 2,36,286 sq km          Population             : 19.98 crore (prov.
       Capital                 : Lucknow                 Principal              : Hindi and Urdu
            The history of Uttar Pradesh is very ancient and interesting. It is recognised in the later
      Vedic Age as Brahmarshi Desha or Madhya Desha. Many great sages of the Vedic times like
      Bhardwaja, Gautam, Yagyavalkaya, Vashishtha, Vishwamitra and Valmiki flourished in this
      state. Several sacred books of the Aryans were also composed here. In the sixth century BC Uttar
      Pradesh was associated with two new religions—Jainism and Buddhism. It was at Sarnath that
      Buddha preached his first sermon and laid the foundations of his order and it was in Kushinagar
      in Uttar Pradesh where Buddha breathed his last. Several centres in Uttar Pradesh like Ayodhya,
      Prayag, Varanasi and Mathura became reputed centres of learning. In the medieval period Uttar
      Pradesh passed under Muslim rule and led the way to new synthesis of Hindu and Islamic
      cultures. Ramananda and his Muslim disciple Kabir, Tulsidas, Surdas and many other
      intellectuals contributed to the growth of Hindi and other languages.
            Uttar Pradesh preserved its intellectual excellence even under the British administration.
      The British combined Agra and Oudh into one province and called it United Provinces of Agra
      and Oudh. The name was shortened to the United Provinces in 1935. In January 1950, the United
      Provinces was renamed as Uttar Pradesh. The state is bounded by Uttarakhand and Himachal
      Pradesh in the north, Haryana in the west, Madhya Pradesh in the south and Bihar in the east.
      Uttar Pradesh can be divided into two distinct regions (i) Southern Hills and (ii) Gangetic Plains.