stations, dam sites, arts, exotic culture, beautifully made handicrafts and handlooms, heritage,
      cuisine, business opportunities, etc.
            To facilitate the visiting tourists, Tamil Nadu Tourism is making a concerted effort in
      improving the basic infrastructure and services in a big way in all important tourist centres.
      Alternate demand through promotion of medical tourism, educational tourism, adventure
      tourism, rural tourism and business tourism also enabled a quantum leap in tourist arrivals.
      Geology and Mining
            Minerals form the basic resources for several important industries and contribute
      substantially to the Gross State Domestic Product and Industrial Growth. Minerals are
      considered to be the backbone for the economic growth and deemed to be the wealth of the
      country. The developmental activities of the state and its economic prosperity are reflected by the
      availability of mineral, wealth and its prudent exploitation.
            The state is endowed with several industrial minerals like lignite, limestone, garnet sand,
      silica sand, quartz and feldspar, graphite, oil and natural gas, magnesite, iron ore, etc., and also
      common use minor mineral deposits including world famous black granite and multi colour
      granite deposits which enabled in setting up of cement, refractory, glass, ceramic and granite
      polishing industries.
      Roads: The length of road network under the control of Highway Department is 62,294 km.
      Railways: (1) Total length of route km is 3846 km.
      (2) Running Track km as on March 2015: 4943 km
      The major stations are: Chennai Central, Tiruchirappalli, Madurai, Tirunelveli, Nagarkoil,
      Coimbatore , Erode, Salem, Jolarpettai, Katpadi and Arakkonam.
      Ports: Major ports are Chennai, Ennore and Thoothukudi. There are 23 declared minor ports
      including 7 government. Minor ports namely Cuddalore, Nagapattinam, Rameswaram, Pamban,
      Colachel, Kanneyakumari and Valinokkam. There are 16 declared captive minor ports including
      Kattupalli, Ennore Minor Port, PY-3 Oilfield and Thirukkadaiyur which are operational and
      others are at various stages of obtaining statutory clearances and development.
      Relevant Website:
       Governor                : Banwarilal Purohit       Chief Secretary       : Dr. Girija
       Chief Minister          : Edappadi K.              Jurisdiction of       : Madras High Court
                                  Palaniswami             High Court