History and Geography
           Nagaland became the 16th state of the Indian Union in 1963. It is bordered by Myanmar on
      the east, Arunachal on the north, Assam on the west and Manipur on the south. It lies between
      the parallels of 98 degree and 96 degree east longitude and 26.6 degree and 27.4 degree latitude
      north of the equator.
           The Naga people belong to the Indo-Mongoloid group of people living in a contiguous areas
      of the north-eastern hills of India and the upper portion of western Myanmar. The major
      recognised tribes of Nagaland are Angami, Ao, Chakhesang, Chang, Khiamniungan, Kuki,
      Konyak, Kachari, Lotha, Phom, Pochury, Rengma, Sangtam, Sumi, Yimchungrii and Zeliang.
      The Naga languages differ from tribe to tribe and sometimes even from one village to another.
      They are, however, under the Tibeto-Burman family.
           In the 12th and 13th centuries, gradual contacts with the Ahoms of present day Assam was
      established but this did not have any significant impact on the traditional Naga way of life.
      However, in the 19th century the British appeared on the scene and ultimately the area was
      brought under British administration. After Independence this territory was made a centrally
      administered area in 1957, administered by the Governor of Assam. It was known as the Naga
      Hills Tuensang Area. This failed to quell popular aspirations and political unrest began. Hence,
      in 1961, the area was renamed as Nagaland and given the status of state of the Indian Union,
      which was formally inaugurated in December 1963.
           Nagaland is basically a land of agriculture with about 70 per cent of the population
      depending on agriculture. The contribution of this sector is very significant. Rice is the staple
      food. It occupies about 70 per cent of the total area under cultivation and constitutes about 75 per
      cent of the total food production in the state. The major land use pattern is slash and burn
      cultivation locally known as jhum. Total cultivable area is 7,21,924 hectares.
           Out of the total land area of 16,579 sq.km, forest area occupies approximately 8,62,9.30
      sq.km. There are Rangapahar wildlife sanctuaries in Dimapur district, Fakim wildlife sanctuaries
      in Tuensang district and Singphan wildlife sanctuaries in Mon district, Intanki National Park in
      Peren district and Zoological Park in Dimapur district.
           The state has an installed generation capacity of 27.84 MW only from small hydro electric
      power projects against the requirement of 95 MW. The main source of power is from the Central
      Sector Power allocation.
           The state has so far been constructing minor irrigations to divert small hill streams to the
      valleys and terraced field for rice cultivation covering an area of 82,150 hectares.
           The state is connected to the rest of the country with airport and railway stations at Dimapur