Railways: Maharashtra has 5,983 km of railway routes which is 9.2 per cent of total railway
      route in the country.
      Aviation: There are 3 international and 5 domestic airports in the state. To reduce congestion in
      Mumbai International Airport, an additional airport is coming up at Navi Mumbai.
      Ports: Mumbai is a major port. There are 2 major and 48 notified minor ports in the state.
      Tourist Centres
           Some important tourist centres are Ajanta, Ellora, Elephanta, Kanheri and Karla caves,
      Mahabaleshwar, Matheran and Panchgani, Jowhar, Malshej Ghat, Amboli, Chikhaldara, Panhala
      hill stations and religious places at Pandharpur, Nashik, Shirdi, Nanded, Aundha Nagnath,
      Trimbakeshwar, Tuljapur, Ganapatipule, Bhimashankar, Harihareshwar, Shegaon, Kolhapur,
      Jejuri and Ambajogai.
      Relevant Website: www.maharashtra.gov.in
       Governor               : Chennamaneni             Chief Secretary       : D.K. Jain
                                 Vidyasagar Rao
       Chief Minister         : Devendra Fadnavis        Jurisdiction of       : Maharashtra, Goa,
                                                         High Court               Daman and
                                                                                  Diu, Dadra and
                                                                                  Nagar Haveli
       Area                   : 22,327 sq km             Population            : 28.56 lakh (2011
       Capital                : Imphal                   Principal             : Manipuri
      History and Geography
           Manipur has a long and glorious history from before the beginning of the Christian era. The
      political history of Manipur could be traced back to 33 A.D. with the coronation of Nongda
      Lairen Pakhangba. After Pakhangba a number of kings ruled over the kingdom of Manipur. The
      independence and sovereignty remained uninterrupted until the Burmese invasion and
      occupation for around seven years in the first quarter of the 19th century (1819-1826). Then,
      Manipur came under British rule in 1891. Manipur regained its independence in 1947 and
      merged into Indian Union in 1950. Thus, it became a Part C State under the purview of Chief
      Commissioner. During 1950-51, an advisory form of Government was introduced and in 1957
      this was replaced by a Territorial Council of 30 elected and 2 nominated members. Later, in 1963
      a Territorial Assembly of 30 elected and 3 nominated members was set up under the Government