Governor               : Anandiben Patel          Chief Secretary       : Vivek Kumar
       Chief Minister         : Bhupesh Baghel           Jurisdiction of       : Chhattisgarh High
                                                         High Court               Court
       Area                    : 3,702 sq km             Population            : 14.59 lakh (prov.
                                                                                  census 2011)
       Capital                 : Panaji                  Principal             : Konkani (Official
                                                         Languages                Language); other
                                                                                  languages: Marathi,
                                                                                  Hindi, English,
      History and Geography
            Goa, known in the bygone days as Gomanchala, Gopakapattam, Gopakapuri, Govapuri,
      Gomantak, etc., abounds in a rich historical heritage. Early history of Goa is obscure. In the first
      century of the Christian era, it was a part of the Satavahana empire, followed by the Kadamba,
      the Rashtrakutas of Malkhed, the Chalukyas and the Silharas. The empire of the Yadavas by the
      end of the 14th century was displaced by the Khiljis of Delhi and thus Muslim rule came to Goa.
      After the discovery of the sea route to India by Vasco-da-Gama in 1498, many Portuguese
      expeditions came to India. In 1510, Alfonso de Albuquerque with the help of the emperor of
      Vijayanagar attacked and captured Goa. With the arrival of the Jesuit priest Francis Xavier in
      1542, proselytisation began in Goa. However, the Portuguese continued to rule over the territory
      except for an interlude during the latter half of the 17th century when Shivaji conquered a few
      areas in and around Goa.
            Even after India’s independence, Goa continued to be in the hands of the Portuguese.
      However, they could not fulfil the aspirations of the Goan people and ultimately on 19 December
      1961, Goa was liberated and made a composite Union Territory with Daman and Diu. In May
      1987, Goa was conferred statehood and Daman and Diu was made a separate Union Territory. It
      is situated on the western coast of the Indian peninsula. On its north runs the Terekhol river
      which separates Goa from Maharashtra and on the south lies north Canara district of Karnataka.
      On the east lie the Western Ghats and in the west the Arabian Sea. Panaji, Margao, Vasco,
      Mapusa and Ponda are the main towns of Goa.
            The total cultivated area of the state is 160,320 hectares while the total production is
      108,333 tonnes. A subsidy of upto 90 per cent is also provided for construction of polyhouses
      and green houses. Similar subsidies are provided for drip irrigation and for construction of