Bihar has an irrigation potential of 28.73 lakh hectares created through major and medium
      irrigation schemes and 6.63 lakh hectares through minor irrigation schemes.
            Festivals are the nerves of any Indian society, spread in each and every part of its body
      system. Bihar is no exception. All most all the important festivals celebrated at the national level
      like Durga Puja, Deepawali, Janmastami, Holi, Id, Christmas, etc., have a strong bond with
      Bihar’s cultural and social life. Besides, there are certain peculiar and important festivals which
      define the social fabric of this of this state include Chhath Pooja, also called Chhathi Dala
      Chhath and Surya Shashthi, ‘Sama Chakeba’, the Harihar Mela of Sonepur, etc.
            A state with so much of history and knowledge has its share of places of tourist interest.
      Bihar attracts hordes of tourists not just of the country but abroad as well. Prominent places of
      interest include-Patna, Bodh Gaya, Gaya, Rajgir, Sitamarhi — the birth place of Sita, Barabar
      Caves, Kesaria Stupa, 100 feet tall Dev Sun Temple of Aurangabad, Jain temples, Buddlist
      Stupas to name the prominent ones.
      Relevant Website:
       Governor                : Lalji Tandon             Chief Secretary        : Deepak Kumar
       Chief Minister          : Shri Nitish Kumar        Jurisdiction of        : Patna High Court
                                                          High Court
       Area                    : 1,35,192 sq km           Population             : 2.56 crore (census
       Capital                 : Raipur                   Principal Language     : Hindi
      History and Geography
            Chhattisgarh, carved out of Madhya Pradesh came into being in November 2000 as the 26th
      state of the Union. It fulfils the long-cherished demand of the people. In ancient times the region
      was known as Dakshin-Kausal. This finds mention in Ramayana and Mahabharata also.
      Between the sixth and twelfth centuries Sarabhpurias, Panduavanshi, Somvanshi, Kalchuri and
      Nagvanshi rulers dominated this region. Kalchuris ruled in Chhattisgarh from 980 to 1791 AD.
      With the advent of the British in 1845, Raipur gained prominence instead of capital Ratanpur. In
      1904 Sambalpur was transferred to Odisha and estates of Sarguja were transferred from Bengal
      to Chhattisgarh.
            Chhattisgarh is bounded by southern Jharkhand and Odisha in the east, Madhya Pradesh and