Nai Udaan
           The objective of the Scheme is to provide financial support to the minority candidates
      clearing prelims conducted by Union Public Service Commission, Staff Selection Commission
      and State Public Service Commissions to adquately equip them to compete for appointment to
      Civil Services in the Union and the state governments and to increase the representation of the
      minority in the civil services by giving direct financial support to candidates.
      Padho Pardes
           The objective of the Scheme is to award interest subsidy to meritorious students belonging
      to economically weaker sections of notified minority communities so as to provide them better
      opportunities for higher education abroad and enhance their employability. The interest subsidy
      under the Scheme shall be available to the eligible students only once, either for masters or Ph.D
      Nai Roshni
           This Ministry implements an exclusive scheme ‘Nai Roshni’ for leadership development of
      minority women with an aim to empower and instill confidence in them by providing
      knowledge, tools and techniques for interacting with government systems, banks and
      intermediaries at all levels. It is implemented through empanelled non-governmental
      National Commission for Minorities
           The Minorities Commission which was set up in 1978 became a statutory body with the
      enactment of the National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992 after which it was renamed as
      the National Commission for Minorities. The first statutory National Commission was set up in
      1993. The NCM Act, 1992 was amended in 1995 which provided for a Vice Chairperson in the
      Commission. With the 1995 amendment, the Commission’s composition was expanded to 7
      members (including a Chairperson and a Vice Chairperson). The provision under Section 3(2) of
      the Act stipulates that five members including the Chairpersons shall be from amongst the
      minority communities.
      Relevant Website:
      State Commission for Minorities
           Thirteen state governments, namely, Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh,
      Government of NCT of Delhi, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan,
      Uttar Pradesh, Tamil Nadu and West Bengal have set up statutory commissions for minorities.
      Manipur and Uttarakhand have set up non-statutory commissions.
      National Commission for Religious and Linguistic Minorities
      Commissioner for Linguistic Minorities
           The Office of the Commissioner for Linguistic Minorities (CLM) was established in 1957.
      in pursuance of the provision of Article 350-B of the Constitution which envisages investigation
      by CLM of all matters relating to the safeguards provided for the linguistic minorities in the
      country under the Constitution and reporting to the President upon these matters at such intervals