Rainwater Harvesting
            CGWB has implemented demonstrative projects on artificial recharge to groundwater and
      rain water harvesting in Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Delhi,
      Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh,
      Maharashtra, Nagaland, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Telengana, Uttar Pradesh, West
      Bengal and UT Chandigarh
      Central Ground Water Authority
            Central Ground Water Authority (CGWA) has been entrusted with the responsibility of
      regulating and controlling ground water development and management in the country and issuing
      necessary directives for the purpose. The Authority performs the following functions: exercise of
      powers under Section 5 of the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986 for issuing directions and
      taking such measures in respect of all the matters referred to in sub-section (2) of section 3 of the
      said Act; to resort to penal provisions contained in Sections 15 to 21 of the said Act; to regulate
      and control, management and development of ground water in the country and to issue necessary
      regulatory directions for the purpose.
      Rajiv Gandhi National Ground Water Training and Research Institute
            The Rajiv Gandhi National Ground Water Training and Research Institute (RGNGWTRI) is
      the training arm of Central Ground Water Board and is located at Raipur, Chhattisgarh. It caters
      to the training requirements of Central Ground Water Board and other central and state
      government organizations, academic institutes, NGOs, etc. RGNGWTRI is implementing a three
      tier (national level, state and block level) training programme keeping in view the requirements
      of the National Project on Aquifer Management. RGNGWTRI is also mandated to carry out
      research in the field of ground water.
      Central Water Commission
            Central Water Commission (CWC) is headed by a Chairman, with the status of an ex-officio
      Secretary to the Government of India. The work of the Commission is divided among 3 wings
      namely, Designs and Research Wing (D&R), Water Planning and Projects Wing (WP&P) and
      River Management Wing (RM). Each wing comprises a number of units/ organizations and is
      responsible for the disposal of tasks and duties falling within the scope of functions assigned to
      it. In order to achieve better management in the water resources sector and have better
      coordination with the state government departments, CWC has established 13 regional offices.
      The offices are located at Bengaluru, Bhopal, Bhubaneswar, Chandigarh, Coimbatore, Delhi,
      Hyderabad, Lucknow, Nagpur, Patna, Shillong, Siliguri and Gandhi Nagar. National Water
      Academy, the training institute of CWC, is located at Pune for training of central and state in-
      service engineers, NGO’s, etc.
      Relevant Website: www.cwc.gov.in
            CWC is charged with the general responsibility of initiating, coordinating and furthering in
      consultation with the state governments concerned, schemes for control, conservation and
      utilization of water resources in the respective state for the purpose of flood management,
      irrigation, drinking water supply and water power generation. The Commission, if so required,