FDI Liberalization
            Government of India has raised the FDI limit for 49 to 100 per cent in scheduled and non
      scheduled air transport services, FDI in scheduled airlines upto 49 per cent permitted under
      automatic route and FDI beyond 49 per cent through Government approval. For NRIs, 100 per
      cent FDI will continue to he allowed under automatic route.
      Directorate General of Civil Aviation
            The Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) is an attached office of the Ministry of
      Civil Aviation and is headed by Director General (Civil Aviation). The headquarters are located
      in New Delhi and there are Regional and Sub-regional offices all over the country. DGCA is
      primarily responsible for regulation of air transport services to/from/within India and for
      enforcement of civil air regulations, air safety and airworthiness standards. It is also responsible
      for licensing of pilots, aircraft maintenance engineers and monitoring of flight crew standards;
      regulation of civil aircraft; investigation of minor air incidents; supervision of training activities
      of flying/gliding clubsand other such regulatory functions. The regulations are in the forms of the
      Aircraft Act, 1934, the Aircraft Rules, the Civil Aviation Requirements (CAR), the aeronautical
      information circulars. It also co-ordinates all regulatory functions with International Civil
      Aviation Organisation (ICAO).
      Relevant Website: www.dgca.nic.in
      Bureau of Civil Aviation Security
            The Bureau of Civil Aviation Security (BCAS) was initially set up as a cell in the DGCA in
      1978, to coordinate, monitor, inspect and train personnel in Civil Aviation Security matters. It
      was reorganized into an independent Department in 1987. BCAS is the regulator for civil
      aviation security in the country and is responsible for laying down the standards for pre-
      embarkation security and anti-sabotage measures in respect of civil flights and ensuring their
      compliance through regular inspections and security audits. Its main responsibility is to lay down
      standards and measures in respect of security of civil flights at international and domestic
      airports in India and Indian aircraft operators at foreign airports. The aim of BCAS is to
      safeguard civil aviation operations against acts of unlawful interference and it is the regulatory
      authority for discharging all relevant national and international obligations in respect of aviation
      security responsibilities which include, inter alia, planning and coordination of all aviation
      security related activities, operational emergencies and crisis management. The BCAS has its
      headquarters in New Delhi and has nine regional offices at New Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata,
      Chennai, Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Guwahati, Hyderabad and Imphal airport.
      Relevant Website: www.bcasind.nic.in
      Airports Authority of India
            Airports Authority of India (AAI) came into being in April 1995. AAI is a Mini Ratna-
      Category-I PSE involved in building, upgrading, maintaining and managing airports
      infrastructure across the country. It owns and maintains 125 airports (96-operational and 29 -
      non-operational) comprising 21-international airport (3 - civil enclaves), 8 - custom airports (4 -
      civil enclaves), 77 - domestic airports and 19-domestic civil enclaves.
      Relevant Website: www.aai.acro