Gulf of Cambay adjoining to Alang-Sosiya village has been developed as a ship recycling yard.
      It is blessed with high tidal range, long beach with gentle slope and firm ground, facilitating
      beaching of ships just at the threshold of the plot. It has high recycling potential of more than
      450 ships (approximately 4.5 million LDT) per annum. Ship recycling serves the nation by
      producing about more than 3.5 million ton per annum of re-rollable steel without exploiting the
      natural resources and provides a green route to generate th secondary steel in place of generation
      of steel from the ore itself.
      Major Ports
            Emerging global economy has opened up new avenues in all the sectors in general and
      maritime sector in particular. Ports provide an inter-face between ocean transport and land based
      transport and play a vital role in the overall economic development. There are 12 major ports and
      about 200 non-major ports along India’s coastline which is about 7517 km. The 6 major ports-
      Kolkata, Paradip, Visakhapatnam, Kamarajar (Ennore), Chennai and V.O. Chidamananar are on
      the east coast and the other major ports viz., Cochin, New Mangalore, Mormugao, Mumbai,
      Jawaharlal Nehru Port (Sheva, Navi Mumbai) and Deendayal (erstwhile Kandla) are on the west
      coast. The major ports are under the direct administrative control of the central government and
      fall in Union List 7th Schedule of Constitution. Ports other than the major ones are under the
      jurisdiction of the respective maritime state government and fall in the Concurrent List. Of the
      total traffic handled by all Indian ports, 57 per cent is handled by major ports and 43 by others.
      Kolkata Port: Kolkata Port is the only riverine major port in the country having been in existence
      for about 138 years. It has a vast hinterland comprising the entire Eastern India including West
      Bengal, Bihar, Jharkhand, U.P., M.P., Assam, North East hill states and the two landlocked
      neighbouring countries namely, Nepal and Bhutan. The port has twin dock systems viz., Kolkata
      Dock System on the eastern bank and Haldia Dock Complex on the western bank of river
      Paradip Port: Paradip Port is one of the major ports of the country. Government of India took
      over the management of the port from the state government in 1965. The Government of India
      declared Paradip Port Trust (PPT) as the eighth major port the country making it the first major
      port in the east coast commissioned in independent India.
      New Mangalore Port: New Mangalore Port was declared the ninth major port in 1974
      inaugurated in 1975. The port has 16 berths and one single point mooring with a total capacity of
      87.63 MTPA.
      Cochin Port: The modern port of Cochin was developed during the period 1920-1940 due to the
      untiring efforts of Sir Robert Bristow. By 1930-31 it was formally opened for vessels up to 30
      feet draught. Cochin was given the status of a major port in 1936. The administration of the port
      got vested in a Board of Trustees in 1964 under the Major Port Trusts Act, 1963. Cochin Port is
      strategically located on the south-west coast of India and at a commanding position at the cross-
      roads of the east-west ocean trade, it is a natural gateway to the vast industrial and agricultural
      produce markets of the South-West India. The hinterland of the port includes the whole of Kerala
      and parts of Tamil Nadu and Karnataka. Cochin with its proximity to the international sea route
      between Europe and the Far East and Australia can attract a large number of container lines
      offering immense business opportunities.
      Jawaharlal Nehru Port: Constructed in the mid 1980’s and commissioned in 1989, Jawaharlal