national highways (NHs), administration of Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 and Central Motor
      Vehicles Rules 1989, National Highways Act,1956 and National Highways Fee (Determination
      of Rates and Collection) Rules,2008, formulation of broad policies relating to road transport,
      environmental issues, automotive norms etc. besides making arrangements for movements of
      vehicular traffic with neighbouring countries. The capacity of national highways in term of
      handling traffic (passenger and goods) needs to be in tandem with the industrial growth. India
      has a large road network of over 56.03 lakh km. This comprises national highways, expressways,
      state highways, major district roads, other district roads and village roads. Of this, the length of
      national highways is nearly 1,29,709 km. The Ministry has been entrusted with the responsibility
      of developmentand maintenance of national highways (NHs). All roads other than national
      highways in the states fall within the jurisdiction of respective state governments. In order to
      assist the state governments in the development of state roads, central government also provides
      financial assistance out of the Central Road Fund (CRF) and Inter State Connectivity and
      Economic Importance (ISC & EI) Scheme.
           The NHDP was mainly being implemented by National Highways Authority of India
      (NHAI) and National Highways and Infrastructure Development Corporation Ltd. (NHIDCL),
      and is spread over seven phases with an estimated expenditure of about ₹ 6,00,000 crore. Some
      of the major National Highways constructed under this programme include Golden Quadrilateral
      (GQ) connecting 4 major metropolitan cities viz., Delhi-Mumbai-Chennai-Kolkata, North South
      & East West Corridors (NS-EW) connecting Srinagar to Kanyakumari and Silchar to Porbandar
      with a spur from Salem to Cochin, road connectivity of major ports of the country to national
      highways. The remaining works under NHDP have now been subsumed under the Ministry’s
      new flagship programme - Bharatmala.
      Relevant Website:
      Development and Maintenance of National Highways
           The Government is implementing National Highways Development Project (NHDP), the
      largest Highways Project ever undertaken in the country since 2000. The NHDP is mainly being
      implemented by National Highways Authority of India (NHAI) and National Highways &
      Infrastructure Development Corporation Ltd. (NHIDCL).
      Bharatmala Pariyojana
           The Ministry has taken up detailed review of NHs network with a view to develop the road
      connectivity to border areas, development of coastal roads including road connectivity for non-
      major ports, improvement in the efficiency of national corridors, development of economic
      corridors, inter corridors and feeder routes along with integration with Sagarmala, etc., under
      Bharatmala Pariyojana. The Bharatmala Pariyojana envisages development of about 26,000 km
      length of economic corridors, which along with Golden Quadrilateral (GQ) and North-South and
      East-West (NS-EW) Corridors are expected to carry majority of the freight traffic on roads.
      Further, about 8,000 km of inter corridors and about 7,500 km of feeder routes have been
      identified for improving effectiveness of economic corridors, GQ and NS-EW Corridors. The
      programme envisages development of Ring Roads / bypasses and elevated corridors to de-
      congest the traffic passing through cities and enhance logistic efficiency; 28 cities have been
      identified for Ring Roads; 125 choke points and 66 congestion points have been identified for
      their improvements.