East Central                                           Hajipur
       Northern                                               New Delhi
       North Central                                          Prayagraj
       North Eastern                                          Gorakhpur
       Northeast Frontier                                     Maligaon (Guwahati)
       North Western                                          Jaipur
       Southern                                               Chennai
       South Central                                          Secunderabad
       South Eastern                                          Kolkata
       South East Central Railway                             Bilaspur
       South Western Railway                                  Hubli
       Western                                                Mumbai
       West Central Railway                                   Jabalpur
       Metro Railway                                          Kolkata
           The main objectives of railways planning have been to develop the transport infrastructure
      to carry the projected quantum of traffic and meet the developmental needs of the economy.
      Since the inception of the planned era in 1950-51, Indian Railways have implemented nine five-
      year plans, apart from annual plans in some years. During the Plans, emphasis was laid on a
      comprehensive programme of system modernization. With capacity being, stretched to its limits,
      investments of cost-effective technological changes become inescapable in order to meet the
      ever-increasing demand for rail transport. Along with the major thrust directed towards
      rehabilitation of assets, technological changes and upgradation of standards were initiated in
      important areas of track, locomotives, passenger coaches, wagon bogie designs, signalling and
      Relevant Website: www.indianrailways.gov.in
      Central Public Sector Enterprises
           There are thirteen undertakings under the administrative control of the Ministry of
      Railways, viz., (i) RITES Ltd., (ii) IRCON International Limited, (iii) Indian Railway Finance
      Corporation Limited (IRFC), (iv) Container Corporation of India Limited (CONCOR), (v)
      Konkan Railway Corporation Limited (KRCL), (vi) Mumbai Railway Vikas Corporation
      Limited (MRVC) (vii) Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation Ltd. (IRCTC), (viii)
      Railtel Corporation of India Ltd. (Rail Tel), (ix) Rail Vikas Nigam Ltd. (RVNL), (x) Dedicated
      Freight Corridor Corporation of India Limited (DFCCIL), (xi) Bharat Wagon and Engineering
      Co. Ltd. (BWEL), (xii) Burn Standard Company Limited (BSCL) and (xiii) Braithwaite and
      Company Limited (BCL).
      Research and Development
           The Research Design and Standards Organization (RDSO) at Lucknow is the R&D wing of