brain drain at different stages of scientific careers such as Early Career Research Awards
      (ECRA) for young faculty for setting up laboratory facilities for quick launching of research by
      new faculty, around 300 candidates will be supported annually under ECRA.
      Teachers’ Associates for Research Excellence (TARE) Mobility Scheme: The Scheme
      launched in 2016-17 aims to facilitate mobility of faculty members working in a regular capacity
      in state universities/colleges/academic institutions such as IITs, IISc, IISERs, national labs, etc.,
      located nearer to the institution where the faculty member is working. This would bring in our
      research stream the latent or dormant scientific manpower with modest investment and improve
      the potential for research and teaching in two tier institutions. Provision of fellowship amount of
      ₹ 5,000 per month, contingency grant of ₹ 5 lakh per annum and overhead for a period of 3 years
      has been made.
      Attracting Young Talent
           Innovation in science pursuit for inspired research (INSPIRE) is an ongoing initiative for
      attracting talent for science and research. About 3.67 lakh students in the age group of 10-15
      have been provided INSPIRE awards during the last 3 years. Science camps are organised to
      provide opportunity to class XI students pursuing science to interact with the science icons from
      India and abroad including Nobel Laureates to experience the joy of innovations. Around 40,000
      students have been awarded scholarship for higher education during last three years. INSPIRE
      faculty awards are provided to post-doctoral researchers in the age group of 27-32 years through
      contractual and tenure positions for 5 years in basic and applied sciences. Faculty awards have
      been given to over 700 candidates awarded in the last four years.
      Opportunities for Women Scientists
           Department of Science and Technology launched several initiatives for women in science
      under its flagship scheme namely KIRAN (Knowledge Involvement in Research Advancement
      through Nurturing). Through this unique initiative, DST provides opportunity to women
      scientists who had break in their career, primarily due to family reasons, to pursue research in
      physical and mathematical sciences, chemical sciences, life sciences, earth and atmospheric
      sciences and engineering technology. More than 2,500 women scientists are beneficiaries of this
      Nano Science and Technology
           National Mission of Nano Science and Technology - an umbrella programme- was launched
      in 2007 to promote R&D in this emerging area of research in a comprehensive fashion. The main
      objectives of this mission are- basic research promotion, research infrastructure development,
      nano application and technology development, human resource development, international
      collaboration and orchestrating national dialogues.
      Climate Change
           National Mission for Sustaining the Himalayan Ecosystem (NMSHE) and National Mission
      for Strategic Knowledge on Climate Change (NMSKCC) launched under National Action Plan
      for Climate Change (NAPCC) are under implementation by the Department. As part of
      deliverables of these national missions, six major research programmes have been initiated.