the country and from other nations, the infusion of new policy ideas and specific issue based
      support. Through consultative and other mechanisms, it endeavours to inform of the best
      practices developed in one or more states or in other parts of the world to all states for possible
      adoption. It fosters cooperative federalism through structured support and policy guidance to the
      states on a continuous basis.
            The institution designs strategic and long-term policy and programme frameworks and
      initiatives and monitors their progress and their efficacy regularly. It uses the lessons learnt from
      monitoring and feedback to make innovative improvements, including necessary mid-course
      corrections. Also, NITI Aayog actively monitors and evaluates the implementation of
      programmes and initiatives, including the identification of the needed resources so as to
      strengthen the prospects of success of the latter. The Aayog publishes policy research papers on
      contemporary issues, brings out books on best practices, prepares model laws to help states
      reform their policies and organizes workshops and conferences. For providing directional and
      policy inputs it serves as a repository of research on good governance and helps disseminate this
      research to stakeholders.
            The composition of the NITI Aayog is as follows:
            Prime Minister of India is the Chairperson. The Governing Council comprises the Chief
      Ministers of all the states, Chief Ministers of union territories with legislatures, viz., Delhi and
      Puducherry and Lt. Governors of other union territories. Experts, specialists and practitioners
      with relevant domain knowledge as special invitees nominated by the Prime Minister. The full
      time organizational framework will consist of, in addition to the Prime Minister as Chairperson,
      Vice-Chairperson is to be appointed by the Prime Minister. Full time and part-time members will
      be maximum of 2, from leading universities, research organizations and other relevant
      institutions in an ex-officio capacity. Part time members will be on a rotational basis. Ex officio
      Members will be maximum of 4 members of the Union Council of Ministers to be nominated by
      the Prime Minister. Chief Executive Officer is to be appointed by the Prime Minister for a fixed
      tenure, in the rank of Secretary to the Government of India. Secretariat as deemed necessary.
            At present the approved constitution of the NITI Aayog is as under:
            Chairperson: Shri Narendra Modi, Prime Minister; Vice Chairpersons: Dr. Rajiv Kumar, in
      the rank of Cabinet Minister; Members: (a) Dr. Bibek Debroy; (b) Dr. V.K. Saraswat; (c) Prof.
      Ramesh Chand (d) Dr. Vinod K. Paul; Rao Inderjit Singh, MoS for Planning; Amitabh Kant
      Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister
            Cabinet Secretariat notified the constitution of the Economic Advisory Council to the Prime
      Minister with the following composition: Dr. Bibek Debroy, Member, NITI Aayog - Chairman;
      Dr. Surjit Bhalla - Part-time Member; Dr. Rathin Roy - Part-time Member; Dr. Ashima Goyal -
      Part-time Member; Ms. Shamika Ravi - Part-time Member; Shri Ratan P. Watal, Principal
      Adviser, NITI Aayog - Member-Secretary.
      Third Meeting of the Governing Council
            The third meeting of the Governing Council of NITI Aayog was held under the
      Chairmanship of the Prime Minister in 2017 that was attended by the Minister of Home Affairs,