aged and other vulnerable sections of the society; (vi) to provide adequate coverage to the
      diverse cultures, sports and games and youth affairs; (vii) to promote social justice, safeguard the
      rights of working classes, minorities and tribal communities; and (viii) to promote research and
      expand broadcasting facilities and development in broadcast technology.
      Prasar Bharati Board
           The Corporation, is governed by the Prasar Bharati Board, which comprises a Chairman, an
      Executive Member (also known as Chief Executive Officer), a Member (Finance), a Member
      (Personnel), six part-time Members, a representative of the Ministry of Information &
      Broadcasting and Directors General of All India Radio and Doordarshan as ex-officio Members.
      The Chairman is a part-time member with a three year tenure subject to an age limit of seventy
      years. The Executive Member is a whole time member with a five-year tenure subject to an age
      limit of sixty five years. The Member (Finance) and the Member (Personnel) are whole time
      members also with a six-year tenure, subject to the age limit of 62 years. The Prasar Bharati
      Board meets from time to time and deliberates on important policy issues and gives directions to
      the executive to implement policy guidelines.
      Relevant Website:
      All India Radio
           After the invention of Radio and the starting of broadcasting in the western countries,
      broadcasting by private Radio Clubs started in a few cities in India like Mumbai, Kolkata and
           The first radio programme was broadcast by the Radio Club of Bombay in June, 1923. It
      was followed by the setting up of a Broadcasting Service that began broadcasting on July 23,
      1927 on an experimental basis at Mumbai and Kolkata simultaneously under an agreement
      between the Government of India and a private company called the Indian Broadcasting
      Company Ltd. When this company went into liquidation in 1930, Indian State Broadcasting
      Service under the Department of “Controller of Broadcasts” was constituted and in 1935 Lionel
      Fielden was appointed the Controller of Broadcasting in India. The Indian State Broadcasting
      Service was renamed as All India Radio in January 1936. It remained under Department of
      Communication, Department of I&B, Department of Information and Arts for periods ranging
      from 1 to 4 years and finally has been under the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting. At
      the time of partition, India had six radio stations (Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai,
      Tiruchirapalli and Lucknow) and three radio stations went to Pakistan (Lahore, Peshawar and
      Dacca, now in Bangladesh).
           A 1,000 kw super power medium wave transmitter each was commissioned at Mogra near
      Kolkata in 1969 and at Rajkot in 1971. Four 500 kw super power short wave transmitters were
      inaugurated at Bangalore in 1994. This made it one of the biggest transmitting centres in the
      world. The first ever FM service was started in Madras on July 23, 1977. All AIR stations were
      provided with 5 channel receiver terminals in 1985. Multitrack recording studio was
      commissioned at Mumbai in 1994 and in Chennai in 1995.
           All India Radio came to be known as Akashvani from 1957. AIR took over radio stations
      being run by native states since British days such as Akashvani Mysore, Hyderabad Radio, and