Section 12 from ₹ 3,500/- to ₹ 7,000/- or the minimum wage for the scheduled employment, as
      fixed by the appropriate Government, whichever is higher. The changes in the Payment of Bonus
      Act, 1965 are effective retrospectively from 2014.
      Occupational Safety and Health
           The provisions on Occupational Safety and Health (OSH) of workers as provided for in the
      Constitution of India are being implemented through the offices of Directorate General of Mines
      Safety (DGMS) and the Directorate General of Factory Advice Service and Labour Institutes
      (DGFASLI). The DGMS enforces the safety and health provisions for the workers in the mining
      industry through its Inspectors appointed under the Mines Act, 1952. The DGFASLI, through its
      Inspectorate of Dock Safety enforces safety provisions in the docks and also acts as the
      coordinating agency at the national level for the Inspectorate of Factories functioning under
      different state governments.
           The Prime Minister’s Shram Awards are given to the workers employed in
      department/public sector undertakings of the Central and state governments and the
      manufacturing units employing 500 or more workers in the private sector in recognition of their
      performance, devotion to duty, etc., The Vishwakarma Rashtriya Puraskars (VRP) are given to
      individual workers or group of workers for their outstanding suggestions leading to improvement
      in productivity, safety and health as well as the import substitution resulting in the savings of
      foreign currency. The National Safety Awards (NSA) are given in recognition of good safety
      performance on the part of the industrial establishments covered under the Factories Act, 1948,
      the employers covered under the Dock Workers (Safety, Health and Welfare) Act, 1986 and
      Building and other Construction Workers (Regulation of Employment and Conditions of
      Service) Act, 1996. The National Safety Award (Mines) are given at the national level in
      recognition of outstanding safety performance in mines covered under the Mines Act, 1952.
      Research and Training
      National Board for Workers’ Education and Development
           The Dattopant Thengadi National Board for Workers’ Education and Development was
      established in 1958 to implement the Workers’ Education Programmes at national, regional and
      unit/village level. The Board undertakes training programmes, which cover workers from
      organized, unorganised, rural and informal sectors. The main objective of the Board’s training
      programmes is to create awareness among all sections of the working population. Supervisory
      and managerial cadres are also covered through joint education programmes.
           With headquarters at Nagpur, the Board has a network of 50 regional and 8 sub regional
      directorates spread throughout the country. The six zonal Directorates at Delhi, Guwahati,
      Kolkata, Chennai, Mumbai and Bhopal monitor the activities of the regional directorates of their
      respective zone. The Board is tripartite in character and consists of representatives from central
      organisations of workers/employers, central/state governments and educational institutions.
           V.V. Giri National Labour Institute an autonomous body of the Ministry of Labour and
      Employment, set up in 1974, has grown into a premier institute of labour research and training.
      Since its inception, the Institute has endeavoured through its research, training, education and
      publications to reach out to diverse groups concerned with various aspects of labour in the
      organised and unorganised sectors. The focus of such endeavours is the concern to transfer