debarred from practising in any court of law or before any other authority in India. The
      proceedings of the Supreme Court are conducted in English only. Supreme Court Rules, 2013
      replacing the 1966 Rules, have been framed under Article 145 of the Constitution to regulate the
      practice and procedure of the Supreme Court. Justice Ranjan Gogoi is the 46th Chief Justice of
      Relevant Website:
      High Courts
            High Court stands at the head of the state’s judicial administration. There are 24 High
      Courts in the country, three having jurisdiction over more than one state. Among the union
      territories, Delhi alone has a High Court of its own. Other six union territories come under the
      jurisdiction of different state High Courts. Each High Court comprises a Chief Justice and such
      other Judges as the President may, from time to time, appoint. The Chief Justice of a High Court
      is appointed by the President in consultation with the Chief Justice of India and the Governor of
      the state. The procedure for appointing the High Court judges is the same except that the
      recommendation for the appointment of Judges in the High Court is initiated by the Chief Justice
      of the High Court concerned.
            They hold office up to 62 years of age. To be eligible for appointment as a judge, one must
      be a citizen of India and should have held a judicial office in India for 10 years or must have
      practised as an advocate of a High Court or two or more such courts in succession for a similar
      Jurisdiction and Seat of High Courts
            Each High Court has powers of superintendence over all courts and tribunals within its
      jurisdiction. It can call for returns from such courts, make and issue general rules and prescribed
      forms to regulate their practices and proceedings and determine the manner and form in which
      book entries and accounts shall be kept. This table gives the seat and territorial jurisdiction of the
      high courts.
                Name of High Courts, their Principal Seats, Benches and their Jurisdiction
                                                                      Permanent Bench and Date
       Sl     High           Principal
                                              Jurisdiction            from which the Bench began
       No. Court             Seat
       1      Allahabad      Prayagraj        Uttar Pradesh           Lucknow (01.07.1948)
              Andhra                          Andhra Pradesh and
       2                     Hyderabad                                -
              Pradesh                         Telangana
                                              Maharashtra; Goa;       Nagpur (01.05.1960)
       3      Bombay         Mumbai           Daman and Diu           Panaji (01.07.1948)
                                              Dadra and Nagar Haveli Aurangabad (27.08.1984)
                                              West Bengal and
                                                                      Circuit Bench Jalpaiguri (yet to
       4      Calcutta       Kolkata          Andaman and Nicobar
                                                                      begin functioning)