Sagar lakes in Madhya Pradesh, twin lakes at Mokokchung in Nagaland (NE region), Annasagar,
      Pushkar and Pichola lakes in Rajasthan, Ramgarh Tal and Laxmital in Uttar Pradesh.
      Conservation of Wetlands
            Wetlands are lifeline for a very large number of people and an important source of fresh
      water to mankind. They provide a host of ecosystem services to humanity, in addition to being
      host to rich biodiversity. However, due to anthropogenic activities, wetlands are getting
      degraded. Major pressures on wetlands include fragmentation of hydrological regimes, siltation
      from degraded catchments, pollution, spread of invasive species and over-harvesting of
            To control degradation and conserve wetlands, the National Wetland Conservation
      Programme (NWCP) was initiated in 1987 and financial assistance is being provided to the state
      governments for implementing action plans for conservation and management of identified
      Ramsar Convention
            As a commitment for conserving potential wetlands, India became a signatory to the Ramsar
      Convention in 1982. As per this convention, India is committed for international cooperation and
      to take national action for conservation and wise use of Wetlands. At present there are 26
      Ramsar sites in India.
      Wetlands (Conservation and Management) Rules
            To implement the objectives of the convention, a regulatory mechanism was put in place
      through Wetlands (Conservation and Management) Rules in December, 2010 vide GSR-951(E).
      Central Wetland Regulatory Authority (CWRA) has been constituted under the Wetlands Rules,
      2010. 25 wetlands spread over 14 states have already been notified under these Rules.
      World Wetland Day
            Each year, World Wetland Day is celebrated on 2nd February for increasing awareness and
      spreading need for conservation and wise use of wetlands all over the world. The World Wetland
      Day-2017 with the theme ‘Wetlands for Disaster Risk Reduction’ was celebrated in collaboration
      with the Government of Madhya Pradesh at Bhoj Wetlands, Bhopal, one of the 26 Ramsar Sites
      that India has designated under the Ramsar Convention.
      National Afforestation and Eco-Development Board
            In order to promote afforestation, tree planting, ecological restoration and eco-development
      activities in the country, the National Afforestation and Eco-Development Board (NAEB) was
      set up in 1992. Special attention is also given by NAEB to the regeneration of degraded forest
      areas and lands adjoining forest areas, national parks, sanctuaries and other protected areas as
      well as the ecologically fragile areas like the Western Himalayas, Aravallis, and Western Ghats
            The objective of the NAEB include:- evolve mechanisms for ecological restoration of
      degraded forest areas and adjoining lands through systematic planning and implementation;
      restore, through natural regeneration or appropriate intervention, the forest cover in the country
      for ecological security and to meet the fuel wood, fodder and other needs of the rural