criteria. There are 18 designated Biosphere Reserves (BRs). Out of 18 Biosphere Reserves, 10
      Biosphere Reserves have been included in the world Network of Biosphere Reserves of
            Implementing organizations are the concerned states/UT government, environment and
      forest departments/line departments. Lead institutes identified for the Biosphere Reserves
      conduct research activities on the sanctioned research projects and periodic review and progress
      reports are evaluated by experts and the evaluation of the completed report is done by the
      designated committee.
      Biodiversity Conservation Scheme Relating to Biosafety
            The scheme on Biodiversity Conservation was initiated during 1991-92 during the 8th Plan
      period, to ensure coordination among various agencies dealing with the issues relating to
      conservation of biodiversity, and to review, monitor and evolve adequate policy instruments for
      the same. The main objective is implementation of Cartegena Protocol on Biosafety, UNEP-GEF
      Supported Capacity building Project on Biosafety (Phase-II) Project and Strengthening of
      Biosafety Management System.
            Cartagena Biosafety Protocol (CPB): It was negotiated under the aegis of the Convention
      on Biological Diversity (CBD) and adopted in 2000. India is a party to the Protocol. The main
      objective of the Protocol is to ensure safe transfer. handling and use of living modified organisms
      (LMOs) resulting from modern biotechnology that may have adverse effect on the conservation
      and sustainable use biological diversity, taking into account risk to human health.
      Forest Protection
            This Centrally Sponsored Scheme of intensification of Forest Management Scheme deals
      within forest fire management, to address the growing concern over adverse effects of forest fire.
      With this, the present Centrally Sponsored Scheme of Forest Fire Prevention and Management
      (FPM) was formulated.
      Wildlife Conservation
            There is a Wildlife Division of the Ministry that has two sub-divisions, namely, Project
      Elephant Division and Wildlife Division. In addition, there are three autonomous bodies.
      Wildlife Institute of India (WII) for wildlife research and training. Central Zoo Authority (CZA)
      for conservation and zoo management and National Tiger Conservation Authority (NTCA). The
      NTCA has been constituted by converting the Project Tiger Directorate into an autonomous body
      for tiger conservation. The National Zoological Park in the Capital is also a part of the Wildlife
      wing of the Ministry of Environment and Forests.
            Wildlife Division deals with the policy and law matters and knowledge management for
      facilitating processes and analysis for evolution of policy and law for conservation of
      biodiversity and protected area network. This Division of the Ministry provides technical and
      financial support to the state/UT governments for wildlife conservation under the Centrally
      Sponsored Scheme, Integrated Development of Wildlife Habitats and also through Central Sector
      Scheme- Strengthening of Wildlife Division and Consultancies for Special Tasks, and through
      grants in aid to the Central Zoo Authority and Wildlife institute of India, Dehradun.