Controller of Certifying Authorities
           Digital Signature Certificates (DSC) are issued by Certifying Authorities (CA) who have
      been licensed by the Controller of Certifying Authorities (CCA). The Office of CCA empanels
      licensed CAs for offering eSign Services for which the legal framework and guidelines are
      already in place. So far, three of the eight licensed CAs have been empanelled for providing e-
      Sign Service. These e-Sign Service Providers (ESP) are expected to facilitate digital signing for
      Aadhaar holders only on the basis of their e-KYC from UIDAI.
      Relevant Website:
      Cyber Appellate Tribunal
           In accordance with the provision contained under Section 48(1) of the IT Act 2000, the
      Cyber Regulations Appellate Tribunal (CRAT) was established in 2006. As per the IT Act, any
      person aggrieved by an order made by the Controller of Certifying Authorities or by an
      Adjudicating Officer under the Act can appeal before the Cyber Appellate Tribunal (CAT).
      Centre for Materials for Electronics Technology
           Centre for Materials for Electronics Technology (C-MET) was set up as a registered
      scientific society in 1990 under the Department of Electronics (now Ministry of Electronics and
      Information Technology) as a unique concept for development of viable technologies in the area
      of materials mainly for electronics. C-MET is operating through its laboratories situated at Pune,
      Hyderabad and Thrissur. The activities at the three labs have specific mandate within the ambit
      of electronic materials with the concept of bringing out technologies from lab level to pilot plant
      demonstration ready for Indian industries to take off.
      Education and Research Network
           Education and Research Network (ERNET): India is an autonomous scientific society of the
      Ministry. ERNET has made significant contribution for the emergence of networking in the
      country. In addition to providing connectivity, ERNET has been meeting the needs of academic
      and research institutions by providing IT consultancy, project management and training.
      National e-Governance Division
           To meet ever growing demand of e-governance across the nation, National e-Governance
      Division (NeGD) was established as amalgamation of experts from the private sector and the
      government. NeGD has been playing a pivotal role in discharging the key tasks including
      programme management and technical support of various components of the Digital India
      National Informatics Centre
           National Informatics Centre (NIC) was established in 1976, and has since emerged as a
      “prime builder” of e-government/e-governance applications up to the grass root level as well as a
      promoter of digital opportunities for sustainable development. NIC, through its ICT network,
      “NICNET”, has institutional linkages with all the ministries/departments of the central
      government, 36 state governments/union territories, and about 650+ district administrations of
      India. NIC has been instrumental in steering e-government/e-governance applications in
      government ministries/departments at the centre, states, districts and blocks, facilitating