changed to quarterly monitoring. At present, out of the remaining 65 items, 19 items are being
      monitored on quarterly basis. The monitoring mechanism for TPP-2006 has also been widened
      by including block level monitoring in addition to the existing central, state and district level
      Monitoring Mechanism
           The primary responsibility of implementation and monitoring of the programme lies with
      the agencies entrusted with the execution of the programme, which in this case are the state
      governments/union territory administrations and the central nodal ministries. The Ministry of
      Statistics and Programme Implementation monitors the programmes/schemes covered under
      TPP-2006 on the basis of performance reports received from state governments/UT
      administrations and ministries. The Ministry has developed a web based Management
      Information System to expeditiously collect information from the state governments and the
      central nodal ministries.
           Monitoring Committees at state, district and block level, for monitoring the progress of
      implementation of all schemes/items covered under the Twenty Point Programme-2006, have
      been constituted by most of the states/Union Territories as per the provisions of TPP-2006
      Monitoring and Impact Assessment
           The Ministry has so far undertaken two impact assessment studies. The first study relates to
      impact of MGNREGA in three selected districts of north-eastern states and the second study was
      on rehabilitation of disabled persons under Deendayal Disability Rehabilitation Scheme (DDRS)
      in Delhi, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal. The Ministry has also undertaken the
      task of critically examining the reports of evaluation undertaken by Niti Aayog (erstwhile
      Planning Commission) and by the central nodal ministries of the schemes implemented by them.
      Infrastructure Monitoring
           The monitoring of important infrastructure sectors in the country is designed to provide an
      overview of the performance and highlighting slippages, if any, before the decision making
      authorities. This Ministry monitors the performance of the eleven key infrastructure sectors viz.,
      power, coal, steel, cement, fertilizers, petroleum, road, railways, shipping and ports, civil
      aviation and telecommunications. The performance of these sectors is analysed with reference to
      the present targets for the month and for the cumulative period and the achievements during the
      corresponding month and cumulative period of the last year. Infrastructure performance is
      regularly reported through the monthly review report on infrastructure performance.
      Members of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme
           The Members of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme (MPLADS) was launched in
      1993. Initially, Ministry of Rural Development was the Nodal Ministry for this scheme. In
      October, 1994 this scheme was transferred to the Ministry of Statistics and Programme
      Implementation. The objective of MPLAD Scheme is to enable MPs to recommend works of
      developmental nature with emphasizes on creation of durable community assets in the areas of
      national priorities, viz., drinking water facility; education; electricity facility; health and family
      welfare; irrigation facility; non-conventional energy severs; railways, roads, pathways and