Ministry of Culture and accorded Deemed University status in 2006.
      Central University of Tibetan Studies
            The Central University of Tibetan Studies, Sarnath, Varanasi was established in 1967 with a
      view to educating the youths of Tibet and Indian students of Himalayan border areas. The
      Institute was declared as a “Deemed to be University” in 1988.
      Central Institute of Himalayan Culture Studies
            The Central Institute of Himalayan Culture Studies (CIHCS) has been registered as a
      Society in 2010 under the Societies Registration Act, 1860. The area of operation of the Society
      shall be all over India. The Institute undertakes under graduate, post graduate and doctoral
      programmes in Buddhist and Himalayan studies and may also establish and maintain feeder
      schools. Regular Grants are also provided to six grantee bodies viz., Library of Tibetan Works
      and Archives, Dharamshala Tibet House, New Delhi, Centre for Buddhist Cultural Studies,
      Tawang Monastery, Arunachal Pradesh, Namgyal Institute of Tibetology, Sikkim, International
      Buddhist Confederation, GRL Monastic School, Bomdila, Arunachal Pradesh.
      Archaeological Survey of India
            The Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) was established in 1861. It functions as an
      attached office of the Ministry of Culture. The major activities of the Archaeological Survey of
      India are: survey of archaeological remains and excavations; maintenance and conservation of
      centrally protected monuments, sites and remains; chemical preservation of monuments and
      antiquarian remains; architectural survey of monuments; development of epigraphical research
      and numismatic studies; setting up and re-organization of site museums; expeditions abroad;
      training in archaeology; publication of technical reports and research works. There are 29 circles,
      3 mini circles and five regional directorates through which the Archaeological Survey of India
      administers the work of preservation and conservation of monuments under its protection.
            Under the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act, 1958, the ASI
      has declared 3,686 monuments/sites to be of national importance in the country which includes
      twenty one properties that are inscribed on the World Heritage List by UNESCO. Three sites,
      namely, Champaner-Pavagarh Archaeological Park in Gujarat, Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus
      (formerly Victoria Terminus) Station in Mumbai and the Brihadisvara temple complex,
      Gangaikondacholapuram and the Airavatesvara temple complex, Darasuram as an extension to
      the Brihadisvara temple complex. Thanjavur (now commonly called as the Great Living Chola
      Temples) have been inscribed on the World Heritage List of UNESCO in 2004. Nomination
      dossiers for the Victorian and Art Deco Ensemble of Mumbai have been sent to the World
      Heritage Centre for inscription on the World Heritage List of UNESCO. The total number of
      individual structures being maintained by the ASI is over 5,000. Search, study and preservation
      of cultural heritage lying submerged in inland or territorial waters are among the principal
      functions of the Underwater Archaeology Wing. It carries out exploration and excavation in
      Arabian Sea as well as in Bay of Bengal. The Science Branch of the Survey with its headquarters
      at Dehradun and field laboratories in different parts of the country carries out chemical
      preservation of monuments, antiquities, manuscripts, paintings, etc.
            The Horticulture Branch of the ASI maintains gardens in about 287 centrally protected
      monuments/sites located in different parts of the country. The branch provides periodic plants to