5                            Culture and Tourism
            THE mandate of the Ministry of Culture revolves around the functions like preservation and
      conservation of ancient cultural heritage and promotion of art and culture both tangible and
      intangible in the country. The Ministry has two attached, six subordinate offices and thirty five
      autonomous organisations, which are fully funded by the Government. There are seven zonal
      cultural centres working mainly on folk and traditional arts of different zones. There are also four
      missions namely National Mission for Manuscripts, National Mission for Monument and
      Antiquities, National Mission on Libraries, and Gandhi Heritage Sites Mission. Broadly, this
      Ministry is working on the protection, development and promotion of all types of heritage of
      culture namely, tangible heritage, intangible heritage and knowledge heritage. In addition, the
      Ministry also harbours the responsibility of Gandhian heritage and commemoration of important
      historical events and centenaries of great personalities. In tangible heritage, the Ministry takes
      care of all the centrally protected monuments of national importance, which is achieved through
      Archeological Survey of India. Similarly, the Ministry is also promoting a museum movement in
      the country and majority of the museums are under its administrative control. The Ministry also
      promotes regional museums through grants-in-aid.
            In the field of intangible heritage, the Ministry extends financial support to individuals,
      group of individuals and cultural organizations engaged in performing visual and literary arts.
      Similarly, the Ministry through its organizations, is engaged in recognizing excellence in the
      field of art and culture by way of awards given by institutions like Sahitya Akademi and Sangeet
      Natak Akademi. The National School of Drama is involved in promoting a vibrant theatre
      movement of contemporary relevance in the context of our traditions and cultural diversity.
            In knowledge heritage, the Ministry is the custodian of all the major libraries in the country.
      It also extends grant-in-aid for library development and is also responsible for all policy matters
      regarding library development. Through National Archives of India, Ministry is responsible for
      maintenance of all archival records of the country. The Ministry is also involved in protection
      and promotion of Buddhist and Tibetian Culture and is doing this through various institutions
      located at Sarnath, Varanasi and Leh. This Ministry has a very well-planned capacity-building
      programme for all those who want to excel in the field of Indian as well as Asian art and culture.
      Institutions like the School of Archaeology, School of Archives, National Institute of History and
      Art, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Institute of Asian Studies are mentionable in this regard.
      Various courses offered by National School of Drama and Kalakshetra Foundation are also some
      of the examples of capacity building programmes of the Ministry. The Ministry is also
      responsible for the implementation of various UNESCO conventions in the field of culture and
      for entering into Cultural Exchange Agreements with partnering countries. India has Cultural
      Agreements with 107 countries and agreements relating to Cultural Exchange Programmes have
      been signed with 69 countries.
      Relevant Website: www.indiaculture.nic.in
      Lalit Kala Akademi