Communications from a central government officer to state or union territory in Region ‘C’ or to
      any office (not being a central government office) or person in such state shall be in English; and
      (v) Communications between central government offices in region ‘C’ to a state or union
      territory of Region ‘A’ or Region ‘B’ or to any office (not being a central government office) or
      persons in such state may be either in Hindi or English.
      Relevant Website:
      Official Language Policy
            The features of official language policy are: i) all manuals, codes and other procedural
      literature relating to central government offices are required to be prepared both in Hindi and
      English. All forms, headings of registers, name plates, notice boards and various items of
      stationery, etc. are also required to be in Hindi and English; ii) officers should ensure that
      documents specified in Section 3 (3) of the Act are issued both in Hindi and English; and iii) the
      administrative head of each central government office should ensure that the provisions of the
      Act, the rules and directions issued under Rule 12 shall be properly complied with, and suitable
      and effective check-points shall be devised for this purpose.
      Annual Programme
            In compliance with the Official Language Resolution, 1968, an annual programme is
      prepared by the Department of Official Language in which targets are set for the offices of the
      central government with regard to originating correspondence, replies in Hindi to letters in
      Hindi, recruitment of Hindi typists and stenos, websites, inspections and meetings of Hindi
      Salahakar Samiti and Official Language Implementation Committees, purchase of Hindi books
      for libraries, and purchase of electronic equipment. A quarterly progress report is submitted by
      the offices of the central government regarding achievements vis-a-vis the said targets. An
      Annual Assessment Report is prepared on the basis of these reports, which is laid on the tables of
      both Houses of the Parliament, and its copies are endorsed to state governments and the
      ministries/departments of the central government.
            The Kendriya Hindi Samiti was constituted in 1967. Chaired by Prime Minister it is the
      apex policy making body which lays the guidelines for the propagation and progressive use of
      Hindi as official language of the Union. The Committee of Parliament on official language was
      constituted in 1976 to periodically review the progress in the use of Hindi as the official
      language of the Union and to submit a report to the President.
      Award Schemes
            The Department has Rajbhasha Keerti Puraskar Yojana for awarding the outstanding
      achievements in the implementation of Official Language Policy of the Union. Under the
      Rajbhasha Gaurav Hindi Book Writing Scheme, cash awards, shields and certificates are
      awarded to the working/retired employees of the central government, banks, financial
      institutions, universities, training institutions and autonomous bodies of the central government
      for writing original books in Hindi. At zonal level, Zonal Official Language Awards are given
      annually to the central government offices, public sector undertakings, banks and financial
      institutions of the central government for outstanding achievements in implementing the Official
      Language Policy of the Union, and for progressive use of Hindi.