In 2005, the government enacted the Disaster Management Act, which envisaged the
      creation of National Disaster Management Authority, under the Ministry of Home Affairs,
      headed by the Prime Minister, and State Disaster Management Authorities (SDMAs) headed by
      respective Chief Ministers, to spearhead and implement a holistic and integrated approach to
      disaster management in the country.
           NDMA, as the apex body, is mandated to lay down the policies, plans and guidelines for
      disaster management to ensure timely and effective response to disasters. Towards this, it has the
      responsibilities which include:- lay down policies on disaster management ; approve the National
      Plan; lay down guidelines to be followed by the state authorities in drawing up the State Plan; lay
      down guidelines to be followed by the different ministries or departments of the Government of
      India for the purpose of integrating the measures for prevention of disaster or the mitigation of its
      effects in their development plans and projects; provide such support to other countries affected
      by major disasters as may be determined by the central government; take such other measures for
      the prevention of disaster, or the mitigation, or preparedness and capacity building for dealing
      with threatening disaster situation or disasters as it may consider necessary; lay down broad
      policies and guidelines for the functioning of the National Institute of Disaster Management.
      Relevant Website:
      Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances
           The Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances (DARPG) is the nodal
      agency of the Government of India for administrative reforms as well as redressal of public
      grievances relating to the states in general and those pertaining to central government agencies in
      particular. The Department endeavours to document and disseminate successful good
      governance practices by way of audio-visual media and publications. It also undertakes activities
      in the field of international exchange and cooperation to promote public service reforms.
      Relevant Website:
      Prime Minister’s Award for Excellence in Public Administration
           Government of India instituted ‘Prime Minister’s Award for Excellence in Public
      Administration’ to acknowledge, recognize and reward the extraordinary and innovative work
      done by officers of the central and state governments. It rewards the outstanding and exemplary
      performance of civil servants. Since its beginning in 2007 till 2015, 67 awards were conferred in
      three categories, individual, group, organization. The structure of the Scheme was changed in
      2015-16 to focus on excellence in implementation of identified priority programme. A new
      category of awards one each for Additional Secretary/Joint Secretary level officers and
      Director/Deputy Secretary, serving in Government of India was also introduced in 2018 to
      recognize their contribution towards bringing about transformational improvements in
      processes/systems through simplification, process re-engineering, etc.
      Civil Services Day
           The Government of India celebrates April, 21 every year as ‘Civil Services Day’ for the
      civil servants to rededicate themselves to the cause of citizens and renew their commitment to
      public service and excellence in work. The first such function was held in Vigyan Bhavan, New
      Delhi on April 21, 2006. On the occasion, the Prime Minister conferred “Prime Minister’s
      Award for Excellence in Public Administration”. This date coincides with the date when the first