allocation of time for discussion on private members’ resolutions and examines Constitution
      amendment bills before their introduction by private members in the Lok Sabha. The Rajya
      Sabha does not have such committee. It is the Business Advisory Committee of that House
      which recommends allocation of time for discussion on stage or stages of private members’ bills
      and resolutions; (c) Rules Committee considers matters of procedure and conduct of business in
      the House and recommends amendments or additions to the rules; and (d) Committee on Absence
      of Members from the Sittings of the House of the Lok Sabha considers all applications from
      members for leave or absence from sittings of the House. There is no such committee in the
      Rajya Sabha. Applications from members for leave or absence are considered by the House
      itself; (iv) Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes, on which
      members from both Houses serve, considers all matters relating to the welfare of scheduled
      castes and scheduled tribes which come within the purview of the Union Government and keeps
      a watch whether constitutional safeguards in respect of these classes are properly implemented;
      (v) Committees concerned with the provision of facilities to members: (a) General Purposes
      Committee considers and advises Speaker/Chairman on matters concerning affairs of the House,
      which do not appropriately fall within the purview of any other Parliamentary Committee; and
      (b) House Committee deals with residential accommodation and other amenities for members;
      (vi) Joint Committee on Salaries and Allowances of Members of Parliament, constituted under
      the Salary, Allowances and Pension of Members of Parliament Act, 1954, apart from framing
      rules for regulating payment of salary, allowances and pension to Members of Parliament, also
      frames rules in respect of amenities like medical, housing, telephone, postal, constituency and
      secretarial facility; (vii) Joint Committee on Offices of Profit examines the composition and
      character of committees and other bodies appointed by the Central and state governments and
      union territories administrations and recommends what offices ought to or ought not to
      disqualify a person from being chosen as a member of either House of Parliament; (viii) The
      Library Committee consisting of members from both Houses, considers matters concerning the
      Library of Parliament; (ix) On April 29, 1997, a Committee on Empowerment of Women with
      members from both the Houses was constituted, to secure, status, dignity and equality for women
      in all fields; (x) On March 4, 1997, the Ethics Committee of the Rajya Sabha was constituted.
      The Ethics Committee of the Lok Sabha was constituted on May 16, 2000.
            Ad hoc Committees: Such committees may be broadly classified under two heads: (a)
      committees which are constituted from time to time, either by the two Houses on a motion
      adopted in that behalf or by Speaker/Chairman to inquire into and report on specific subjects,
      (e.g., Committees on food management in Parliament House Complex, Committee on installation
      of portraits/statues of National leaders and Parliamentarians in Parliament House Complex,
      Committee on Security in Parliament Complex, Committee on MPLADS, Committee on Railway
      convention, etc.) and (b) Select or Joint Committees on Bills which are appointed to consider and
      report on a particular bill. These committees are distinguishable from the other ad hoc
      committees as much as they are concerned with bills and the procedure to be followed by them
      as laid down in the Rules of Procedure and Directions by the Speaker/Chairman.
      Leaders of Opposition in Parliament
            The Leaders of Opposition in the Rajya Sabha and the Lok Sabha are accorded statutory
      recognition. Salary and other suitable facilities are extended to them through a separate
      legislation brought into force on November 1, 1977.